lucky-strikesThe songwriting vison of Matt Boulter (lead vocals and guitar) and Dave Giles (piano and accordion) focuses on literate ragged alternative country, influenced by the Band, Tom Waits and the spaghetti westerns of Ennio Morricone. Boulter, who also tours with Simone Felice and Duke and the King, posseses an urgent soaring voice, often compared to Mike Scott from the Waterboys. He's backed by Jim Wilson's flying fiddle and banjo, which gives the band their signature sound. Giles adds accordion, organs and clattering bar room piano. Will Bray's thundering drums and Ambrose P. Ambrose's upright and electric bass give the swing.

'The Waterboys on trucker pills.' - Q Magazine

Formed in 2006, the band recorded their debut after just 6 months. This was followed by the Chronicles of Solomon Quick. The half true/half fictional account of the man who killed blues singer Robert Johnson. Next came Gabriel Forgive My 22 Sins, the story of a boxer who descends into madness after taking a bribe to throw a fight.

For their fourth album the Lucky Strikes abandoned the narrative storyline of their previous two long players and looked inwards. Inspired by the desperate and the damned of Nelson Algren's novel Never Come Morning - the songs are based on the gangsters, carnival queens and ghosts of Essex folklore. From the rousing Irish folk of Ghost and the Actress to the swampy voodoo rhythms of Mother Moore, the album sweeps and swings across genres, but always sounding unmistakably like the Lucky Strikes.


Images of Bridport and West Bay

Website Design and Hosting by Bridport Radio
Copyright © 2005 - Bridport Radio